SLCentral - Your logical choice for computing and technology
  • Home
  • Search
  • Forums
  • Hardware
  • Games
  • Tech News
  • Deals
  • Prices
  • A Guru's World
  • CPU/Memory Watch
  • Site Info
  • Latest News
    Corsair TX750W Power Supply Unit Review
    Businesses For Sale
    Shure E530PTH Earphones Review
    Guide to HDTVs
    Cheap Web Hosting
    >> Read More
    Latest Reviews
    Corsair TX750W Power Supply Unit - 4-/-0/2008
    Shure E530PTH Earphones - 9-/-0/2007
    Suunto T6 Wrist Top Computer - 1-/-0/2007
    Suunto X9i Wristwatch - 9-/-0/2006
    Shure E3g Earphones - 5-/-0/2006
    >> Read More
    SL Newsletter
    Recieve bi-weekly updates on news, new articles, and more

    Product Info
    Name: Pentium 4 1.7GHz
    Company: Intel
    Price: Click To Find Lowest
    Article Options
    Discuss This Article
    Find Lowest Price
    Print This Article
    Read/Write User Reviews
    E-Mail This Article

    Read the 40 latest news posts
    Corsair TX750W Power Supply Unit Review
    Businesses For Sale
    Shure E530PTH Earphones Review
    Guide to HDTVs
    Cheap Web Hosting
    Dark Geek
    Suunto T6 Wrist Top Computer Review
    SLCentral Makeover
    Techzone ECS KA3 MVP Motherboard Review
    Suunto X9i Wristwatch Review

    Vote on the SLPoll
    Which gaming console will be the best?
    Current Results
    View All Running Polls

    Subscribe to SLNewsletter
    Recieve bi-weekly updates on news, new articles, and more!

    SLCentralHardwareReviewsSound Mar 19th, 2018 - 12:51 PM EST
    Intel Pentium 4 1.7GHz
    Author: David Pitlyuk | Paul Mazzucco
    Date Posted: August 3rd, 2001
    Rating: 7.5/10 SystemLogistics

    Update 8/4/01: After posting this review, we recieved a lot of complaints about the charts being zoomed in, and makes the gap between the Athlon and Pentium 4 look huge. That was a mistake we made in Excel, and was fixed as soon as we could get the new charts uploaded. All of the charts now start at 0.


    The processor world is currently in an on-going battle between the powerhouse Intel, and its once inconceivable rival, AMD. Each company has a new generation of processors, Intel with the Pentium 4, and AMD with its Palamino.

    The first thing we need to understand is Intel's competition, as well as their other processors that are available. Currently the fastest processor (In terms of clock speed) from Intel is the 1.8GHz Pentium 4. AMD currently has the 1.4GHz Athlon.

    After reading that, you should have two questions in your head. One, if the 1.8 GHz chip is available, why are we reviewing the 1.7GHz chip? The answer to that question is quite simple, by the time we could finally get Intel to send us a Pentium 4 to review they only had a 1.7GHz chip available, even though we did ask for a 1.8. Not only that, but if you have ever read some of the other Pentium 4 reviews with pictures of the chip, you may have noticed that they say "Intel Confidential". This means that the processor is an engineering sample and the multiplier lock has been taken off, which isn't like that on a retail chip. Without a multiplier lock, it would have allowed us to overclock our sample, but unfortunately Intel didn't send us an engineering sample. Actually the D850GB motherboard, which Intel was nice enough to include didn't seem to have any options to change the FSB or voltage settings anyway. We hope that by the time this review is posted, Intel can set aside a 1.8GHz chip for us to take a look at, if that does happen, be sure to see a review on it soon afterwards. Also as a quick side note, according to Intel's roadmap, their 2GHz Pentium 4 is slated to be released sometime in Q4, most likely in September to be more specific.

    The second question you should be thinking is how come AMD has a chip that runs only 1.4GHz, while Intel has one at 1.8GHz…Wouldn't that make Intel a clear winner? Not necessarily, today clock speed doesn't guarantee a performance winner as there are a lot more aspects to what is faster. We will talk about some of the hard numbers and comparisons between the processors later in the review when we start getting into the benchmarks.

    Now that I have given you a bit of an introduction to the review and the background of where the processor world is currently at, lets start talking about the technology that goes behind the Pentium 4. Since this is our first actual processor review, and specifically of the Pentium 4, we have published a separate in-depth article today on the technology itself. The article is written by Paul Mazzucco, our processor/technology editor. He is also helping me out with a couple aspects of this review. You can check out the article by clicking here. In case you really aren't interested in going in-depth with the Pentium 4, the next page is a brief overview of what the technology behind the chip offers.

    >> Technology Overview

    Article Options

    Post/View Comments   Post/View Comments
    Find the lowest price on this product   Find Lowest Price
    Print this article   Print This Article
    Read/Write user reviews   Read/Write User Reviews
    E-mail this article   E-Mail This Article
    Article Navigation

    1. Introduction
    2. Technology Overview
    3. Should You Buy Now?
    4. Benchmarks Introduction/The Test
    5. SYSmark 2001
    6. Winstone 2001
    7. OfficeBench 2001
    8. Quake III Arena
    9. 3DMark 2000/2001
    10. Aquamark
    11. Conclusion

    Did you like this review?
    Browse the various sections of the site
    Reviews, Articles, News, All Reviews...
    Reviews, Articles, News...
    Regular Sections
    A Guru's World, CPU/Memory Watch, SLDeals...
    Forums, Register(Free), Todays Discussions...
    Site Info
    Search, About Us, Advertise...
    Copyright © 1998-2007 SLCentral. All Rights Reserved. Legal | Advertising | Site Info