SLCentral - Your logical choice for computing and technology
Navigation
  • Home
  • Search
  • Forums
  • Hardware
  • Games
  • Tech News
  • Deals
  • Prices
  • A Guru's World
  • CPU/Memory Watch
  • Site Info
  • Latest News
    Corsair TX750W Power Supply Unit Review
    Businesses For Sale
    Shure E530PTH Earphones Review
    Guide to HDTVs
    Cheap Web Hosting
    >> Read More
    Latest Reviews
    Corsair TX750W Power Supply Unit - 4-/-0/2008
    Shure E530PTH Earphones - 9-/-0/2007
    Suunto T6 Wrist Top Computer - 1-/-0/2007
    Suunto X9i Wristwatch - 9-/-0/2006
    Shure E3g Earphones - 5-/-0/2006
    >> Read More
    SL Newsletter
    Recieve bi-weekly updates on news, new articles, and more


    Product Info
    Name: Pentium 4 1.7GHz
    Company: Intel
    Price: Click To Find Lowest
    Article Options
    Discuss This Article
    Find Lowest Price
    Print This Article
    Read/Write User Reviews
    E-Mail This Article


    Read the 40 latest news posts


    Vote on the SLPoll
    Which gaming console will be the best?
    Current Results
    View All Running Polls

    Subscribe to SLNewsletter
    SLNewsletter
    Recieve bi-weekly updates on news, new articles, and more!




    SLCentralHardwareReviewsSound Jun 20th, 2019 - 2:14 AM EST
    Intel Pentium 4 1.7GHz
    Author: David Pitlyuk | Paul Mazzucco
    Date Posted: August 3rd, 2001
    Rating: 7.5/10 SystemLogistics

    Benchmarks Introduction

    Before presenting the benchmarks, there is one issue that needs to be discussed. We had some issues getting some comparable processors in the labs, as mentioned before, this is SystemLogic.net's first processor review. In our benchmarks we only used the P4 1.7GHz and a 1.1GHz AMD Athlon (200MHz FSB). We will be forced to recommend you a few other sites benchmarks for some comparison, but make sure to keep our numbers on the Pentium 4 in mind. We will also be referring to various sites benchmarks as well. In our next processor review there should be no problems in terms of having a few comparable processors available.

    Here are a few benchmarks that should be helpful to see other processors numbers. Note that the system configurations may be different and different benchmarks may have been run:

    Another issue that came up had to do with 3D performance in Windows 2000. The tests that were run on any 3D performance benchmark (Eg: Quake III, Aquakmark, 3DMark) all scored very low numbers. In fact, Aquamark kept on freezing on us. Since the issue showed in just 3D performance, the first thought that comes into mind is that it is an issue with the video card, which happened to be a Visiontek GeForce 3.

    We contacted Intel right away and sent over the numbers. Intel's performance engineers went over them and stated that they were getting the same sort of results over there as well, and that it was mainly because of Windows 2000's lack of gaming support. They were using a GeForce 2 in their tests with an older driver version, and said that the GeForce 2 would perform better than the GeForce 3. I thought this was a bit of an odd conclusion, considering the fact that we looked on some other sites benchmarks for 3D performance in Win2k, and their numbers seemed fine. Just to make sure, we threw a GeForce 2 into the system, and still had the same results, so we're not sure if it was a video card driver issue, a motherboard issue, or what, but we decided not to post 3D performance results in Windows 2000 until we found out.

    The Test

      Hardware
    Processor(s) Intel Pentium 4 1.7GHz AMD Athlon 1.1GHz (200)
    Motherboard(s) Intel D850GB MSI KT7 Turbo (MS-6330)
    Memory 256MB PC800 Samsung RDRAM 256MB PC133 Mushkin SDRAM
    Hard Drive IBM Deskstar 30GB 75GXP 7200RPM ATA100
    Video Card Visiontek GeForce 3 64MB DDR
    CD-ROM(s) Sony CDU-5211 52X Plextor PlexWriter 12/10/32A
    Ethernet Netgear FA-311 Linksys LNE100TX
      Software
    Operating System(s) Windows Millenium Edition
    Windows 2000 Professional Service Pack 2
    Video Drivers NVIDIA Detonator 3 v12.41
    VIA 4-in-1 4.32V for all VIA boards
      Benchmarking Applications
    Productivity BAPCo SYSmark 2001
    Winstone 2001
    OfficeBench 2001
    Gaming Quake III Arena v1.29f
    3DMark 2000
    3DMark 2001
    Aquamark v22

    Benchmarking System Setup

    Each system had a formatted hard drive with clean installs of Windows 2000 Proffesional SP2 and Windows Millenium Edition in a dual boot format. All necessary updates to the operating system were made VIA Windows Update. Each benchmark was installed, run, and uninstalled. After each uninstallation the drive was defragmented, and the next benchmarking program was installed.

    For Quake III Arena benchmarks, we used Q3Bench to automate things.

    >> SYSmark 2001

    Article Options

    Post/View Comments   Post/View Comments
    Find the lowest price on this product   Find Lowest Price
    Print this article   Print This Article
    Read/Write user reviews   Read/Write User Reviews
    E-mail this article   E-Mail This Article
    Article Navigation

    1. Introduction
    2. Technology Overview
    3. Should You Buy Now?
    4. Benchmarks Introduction/The Test
    5. SYSmark 2001
    6. Winstone 2001
    7. OfficeBench 2001
    8. Quake III Arena
    9. 3DMark 2000/2001
    10. Aquamark
    11. Conclusion

    Did you like this review?
    Browse the various sections of the site
    Hardware
    Reviews, Articles, News, All Reviews...
    Gaming
    Reviews, Articles, News...
    Regular Sections
    A Guru's World, CPU/Memory Watch, SLDeals...
    SLBoards
    Forums, Register(Free), Todays Discussions...
    Site Info
    Search, About Us, Advertise...
    Copyright 1998-2007 SLCentral. All Rights Reserved. Legal | Advertising | Site Info